à propos

Dixième centre de recherche de Sciences Po, le médialab a été créé en 2009 pour aider les sciences sociales et humaines à tirer le meilleur profit de la masse de données rendues disponibles par la numérisation.

Il a trois missions principales fortement intégrées: méthodologie, analyse, théorie.

La première est d’être au service des différents centres de Sciences Po pour aider les chercheurs qui se trouvent aux prises avec des données nouvelles pour lesquelles il n’existe pas encore de méthodologie bien établie.

La deuxième mission consiste à analyser en quoi la numérisation modifie les médias et les médiations qui sont l’objet des sciences sociales et humaines, particulièrement en économie, en sciences politiques, en histoire et en sociologie.

La troisième est de repérer en quoi la numérisation ne se contente pas de multiplier les données et de modifier les pratiques existantes, mais quelle nouvelle prise elle apporte sur les questions fondamentales de la théorie sociale .

Méthodes numériques (digital methods), études des médias (media studies), théorie sociale (social theory) forment ainsi les trois piliers du médialab. C’est cette combinaison exceptionnelle entre méthode, analyse et théorie, qui explique l’originalité de son organisation. En effet, contrairement aux autres centres de Sciences Po, il est composé d’un petit nombre d’universitaires et d’un nombre important d’ingénieurs, qui sont tous considérés comme publiants (qu’il s’agisse d’articles, de logiciels, ou de méthodes). En ce sens, il emprunte davantage son modèle d’organisation à un laboratoire d’instrumentation scientifique.

L’autre originalité du médialab en terme d’organisation est de s’appuyer à parts égales sur trois métiers: sciences du social, ingénierie des données numériques et design de l’information, ce dernier métier étant devenu indispensable du fait de la masse et de l’hétérogénéité des données qui bouleversent les habitudes de lecture.

Le médialab s’est particulièrement consacré au cours des années passées à domestiquer les données numériques pour qu’elles deviennent utilisables pour les trois missions qu’il s’était fixé au départ:

Du point de vue des méthodes numériques, un grand nombre de logiciels ont été développés qui permettent d’organiser, d’automatiser et de visualiser les recherches sur les données nativement numériques ou numérisées. Ces nombreux outils et instruments ont été intégrés à des recherches (en économie TRUST et SOWELL, en sciences politiques « La Fabrique de la Loi », en méthodes d’enquêtes DIME-SHS, en histoire EAT Datascape et TOFLIT, en anthropologie AIME) mais aussi à des enseignements et en particulier aux cours de controverses développés dans le cadre du projet FORCCAST. Le médialab a ainsi pu collaborer avec un grand nombre de chercheurs de Sciences Po tout en développant un réseau international avec les centres de même type.

Du point de vue des études de média, de nombreuses recherches ont été menées sur l’opinion IPINION, les nouvelles formes de subjectivité HABITELE, la transformation de l’édition SOLEN, les humanités numériques RICARDO.

Enfin, du point de vue de la théorie sociale, d’importants articles ont été publiés sur les nouvelles façons de suivre les traces laissées par les activités humaines, traces dont la visualisation permet d’envisager de nouvelles définitions de la société et de ses acteurs.

The contents of this site were supplied by

Sciences Po
27 rue Saint-Guillaume
75337 Paris Cedex 07
Tel. : 01 45 49 50 50
Fax. : 01 42 22 31 26
webmestre ( AT ) sciencespo ( DOT ) fr
Contact webmaster : paul.girard ( AT ) sciencespo ( DOT ) fr
Publisher

Frédéric Mion, President of Sciences Po
Hosting

This internet site is hosted by Fondation Nationale des Sciences Politiques (FNSP), Sciences Po – Direction des Systèmes d’Information

APE Code: 803Z
27, rue saint Guillaume
75337 Paris cedex 07
Industrial and Intellectual Property

Except for explicitly licensed elements (Hyphe’s software and website source codes), all information on this web site (text, photos, logos…) is protected by the copyrights held by Sciences Po or their partners.
Therefore, the information may not be reproduced, modified, republished, re-aired, translated, distributed or reused in any manner, without the written consent of Sciences Po.
The Sciences Po site’s title, concept and form, as well as its content, such as news, descriptions, illustrations and original images and their organisation, and any software compilation, source code and other elements contained on the Sciences Po site are the property of Sciences Po.
Hypertext Links

Our pages also contain links to other sites for which we are in no manner responsible, neither regarding their adhesion to public order or good conduct, on the one hand, nor regarding their personal data privacy policies and use, on the other.
By accessing an outside site, through a hypertext link, you accept that this access is carried out at your own risk. Therefore, Sciences Po will in no way be held responsible for any direct or indirect damages resulting from your access to an outside site through a hypertext link.

About

Tenth research centre of Sciences Po, the médialab was established in 2009 to help social sciences and humanities take full advantage of the huge amount of data made available by digitization.

Its three primary missions — methodology, analysis, and theory — are highly integrated:

The first of these missions is to help Sciences Po researchers who are struggling with new data for which there is no established methodology.

The second mission is to analyse how digitization changes the media and mediations that are the subject of social sciences and humanities, particularly in economics, political science, history and sociology.

The third one is to identify how digitization both multiplies the data and changes existing practices, and gains a new grip on the fundamental questions of social theory.

Digital methods, media studies, and social theory are the three pillars of the médialab. This unique combination of methodology, analysis and theory, explains the originality of its organization. Indeed, unlike other centers at Sciences Po, the médialab is composed of a small number of academics and a large number of engineers who are all likely to publish (either articles, software, or methods). In this sense, its organizational model is similar to a laboratory for scientific instrumentation’s.

The other singularity of the médialab’s organization is to rely equally on three areas: social sciences, digital data engineering, and information design, which has become a necessity due to the mass and the heterogeneity of data that disrupt the reading habits.

Over the last years, the médialab fully devoted itself to make digital data suitable to the three missions it had initially set:

On the numerical methods level, many software have been developed that help organize, automate and visualize research on digital or scanned data. These tools and instruments have been integrated in many research projects (TRUST and SOWELL in economics, “La Fabrique de la Loi” in political science, DIME-SHS in survey methods, TOFLIT  and EAT Datascape in history, AIME in anthropology). They are also used in classes, particularly in the ones on controversy, developed within the framework of the FORCCAST project. The médialab works with a large number of Sciences Po researchers while developing an international network with other centers sharing the same interests.

On the media studies level, research has been conducted on opinion (IPINION), new forms of subjectivity (HABITELE), publishing processing (SOLEN), and digital humanities (RICARDO).

Finally, on the social theory level, important articles have been published on new techniques to follow the traces of human activity. The visualization of such traces allows to consider new definitions of both society and its actors.